Challenge 5 Update – From The Philosophers Stone to The Deathly Hallows – My long, very very long overdue reading of Harry Potter – An Update

I’m pleased to say that I am no longer a complete and utter Muggle, I know what is in the chamber of secrets, I know my Polyjuice potion from my Butterbeer and I have also finally got to read about Hogwarts and Quidditch and so many wondrous delights. I am a fan of and really into Harry Potter!

I’ve made it to ‘The Goblet of Fire’ and I have to say I am pretty much hooked. The drama, the brilliant story telling, the characters and so much all round brilliance. Better late than never.

On a recent trip to Yorkshire I was setting off from Kings Cross Station and so Platform 9 3/4 and The Harry Potter shop had a much more exciting and richer meaning.

I did however lose my speed read challenge to my son. When I was reading The Philosopher’s Stone he challenged me to get to the end of The Prisoner of Azkaban before he got to the end of The Goblet of Fire, and he just made it to the end of it ahead of me finishing Azkaban. As a result I had to drink the home made polyjuice potion.

Thankfully I survived and the bonus treat was getting to also sample some far more delicious home made butterbeer. We used Cream Soda, Ice Cream, Butterscotch, Ginger and Cinnamon. Delicious.

I still have a lot to read (and during Lent I’m also reading 2 books and convening/contributing to 2 discussion groups) but such is the joy of the books I think I will read them all by 11 June!

I’ll drink to that – cheers

 

One thought on “Challenge 5 Update – From The Philosophers Stone to The Deathly Hallows – My long, very very long overdue reading of Harry Potter – An Update

Leave a Reply

