A Musical Autumn – Part 1 – Radiohead Experience

img_20160508_201255

My 40 ways to celebrate 40 is taking on a distinctly musical flavour in the coming weeks and months.

In October I’m combining my 3rd in the series of both my creations and challenges all through the medium of music, and more specifically through the music of my all time favourite artists, Radiohead.

The weekend of the 1st and 2nd October I am curating/hosting/experiencing a Radiohead listening weekend https://www.facebook.com/events/1161494097246629/

Ever since 2 October 1994 in my opening weeks as a University fresher when Radiohead played the first gig I went to as a student at my Student Union (De Montfort Leicester) I have been totally won over by this amazing band.

To celebrate 22 years of Radiohead (to the day) and as part of my 40th birthday experiences I am going to listen to all 9 Radiohead albums over the weekend of 1 and 2 October.

I would love it if you would be up for joining me over the weekend. Whether in person or in spirit, whether a fan or whether you have yet to hear their music, and listen to an album or some tracks during the course of the weekend. 

I will be posting in the lead up to the event on the Facebook page and through the weekend. It will be a mix of audio, video, articles, reflections, polls, stories, memories and I will also be sharing a few live performances of some favourite Radiohead songs. 

2016 feels like a very significant Radiohead year, with the first new album in 5 years ‘A Moon Shaped Pool’ and the band playing lots of amazing live shows like this one at Lollapalooza in the States.

 

There is such a richness to Radiohead’s music, story and overall history and also their current and future creations. I’m also genuinely fascinated at the life, times, politics, issues, culture and events that correlate with the Radiohead Releases. 1997 OK Computer coming out just as Blair came to power, and the record all brooding with pre millennium tension and the challenges of the day with songs like Electioneering and the politics of trust, globalisation and International Finance. 2003 and Hail to the Thief and The Iraq War and most recently 2016 and A Moon Shaped Pool with tracks like Burn the Witch and its connection to the zeitgeist of fear and the refugee debate and The Numbers and the politics of climate change. On so many levels musicially, lyrically and culturally each of these releases in their different ways feel significant, prophetic, disturbing, challenging and of the time but also timeless in many ways

To add extra spice and challenge to the experience I then intend to play a short set of 2 Radiohead songs (plus 2 of my own songs) at a London Unplugged Open mic night on Thusday 13 October.

This will kinda be an experience, journey, creation and ultimately a challenge all rolled into one as part of my 40 ways to celebrate being 40. 

Here’s the planned listening schedule

Saturday 1 October
Pablo Honey (1993)
The Bends (1995)
OK Computer (1997)
Kid A (2000)
Amensiac (2001)

Sunday 2 October
Hail to the Thief (2003)
In Rainbows (2007)
The King of Limbs (2011)
A Moon Shaped Pool (2016)

Thursday 13 October
Short Live 4 song set played at a London Unplugged open mic night.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Musical Autumn – Part 1 – Radiohead Experience

Leave a Reply

